Fabric, Flowers and Fruitage

Patches of Hope

Posted on: May 19, 2013

2013-05-18 17.55.47

I started this quilt several weeks ago.  A dear friend called me that chilly March morning to tell me that her mother had passed away, somewhat unexpectedly.  She lives several hours away, and I just wanted to reach through the phone and hug her, comfort her.

2013-03-07 08.38.32

I had just received a WONDERFUL birthday present from my WONDERFUL husband – a Janome Horizon MC8200.  So almost as soon as I hung up, I thought, I’ll make her a quilt!  I hurried home and began culling fabrics from my stash.  I wasn’t sure what I was going to do yet, but I knew I wanted flowers and color.

2013-03-07 08.59.26

It’s a mix and match of some contemporary fabrics as well as fabrics I have had for years.  Some Amy Butler, Tula Pink, Marmalade, Dena Designs – and many fabrics I can’t even begin to remember where I got them! ! I LOVE Kona Snow, so I decided to use it for the sashing.  I had hoped to get it done quickly, so I chose a simple lattice pattern.  The large squares give the fabrics a chance to ‘speak for themselves’, don’t you think?

2013-03-07 12.06.33

I found this GORGEOUS, colorful paisley and decided to use it as the binding.  It just seemed to pull all the colors I used together.

2013-05-18 18.37.09

Since I was just breaking in my new machine, I used a large all-over stippling pattern to quilt it.  Machine quilting has not been my favorite thing to do since my old machine didn’t have a very large throat plate.  The Janome has a nice big workspace, so maybe my skills will improve!!

2013-05-18 18.36.49

The quilt measures 65 1/4″ x 65 1/4″.  I can’t decide which is my favorite fabric!  I love this one from Tula Pink’s “The Birds and the Bees” collection:

2013-05-19 17.35.34

And this one from the “London” collection by Dena Designs for Free Spirit Fabrics just makes me smile:

2013-05-19 17.36.19

. . . which is what I hope my friend will do when she gets this. I have SUCH a problem estimating how long a project will take!!  I had thought I’d get it done within a week – silly me!!  When did I finish it?  3 days ago!  So when I heard about the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, I decided to enter this one. I will get the quilt to her soon, though, with the prayer that she will know how much she is loved.

2013-05-18 17.55.47

Tags:

3 Responses to "Patches of Hope"

It’s beautiful. What a thoughtful gift for your friend! I hope it brings her much comfort.

Thank you, citricsugar! I hope so too!

I love it, Kathy!!

Leave a Reply

Family Ever After....

Bearing fruit, creatively and spiritually

The Drawing Board

Bearing fruit, creatively and spiritually

Fresh Lemons Modern Quilts

Modern Quilts, Home Decor, and Handcrafted Clothing

challies.com - Informing the Reforming

Bearing fruit, creatively and spiritually

Oh, Fransson!

Bearing fruit, creatively and spiritually

Film in the Fridge

Bearing fruit, creatively and spiritually

carolyn friedlander

fresh, modern quilt patterns

Diary of a Quilter - a quilt blog

Bearing fruit, creatively and spiritually

Fabric, Flowers and Fruitage

Bearing fruit, creatively and spiritually

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

